Skip to main content
Comparisons

Best AI Video Generators in 2026, Ranked by Use Case

By Oakgen TeamPublished Updated 10 min read

Share
Best AI Video Generators in 2026, Ranked by Use Case

There is no single best AI video generator in October 2026, so pick by job. On Oakgen, Seedance 2.5 makes the longest clips (up to 30 seconds with sound), Kling v3 Pro is the pick for image-to-video with start and end frames, Seedance 2.0 is the only 4K option, and Grok Imagine Video and MiniMax H3 Max draft for 85 credits per 5 seconds.

Outside Oakgen, HeyGen is the better choice for talking-avatar videos longer than 2 minutes, and Runway and Google Veo 3.1 suit people who want one vendor's own app. Every Oakgen price below comes from Oakgen's pricing code, and every outside fact from the vendor's own page, all read on October 25, 2026. We did not run a quality test. More on that in "How we checked this" near the end.

Which AI video generator is best for each job?

The table ranks tools by how well their documented limits fit each job. Rank 1 is the tool we would open first for that job, not the one with the best-looking output. Oakgen prices are for one 5-second clip, as of October 25, 2026.

RankToolBest forMax length per clipMax resolutionAudio5-second clip
1Seedance 2.5 (Oakgen)Long single takes with sound30 s1080pSwitch, on by default373 credits at 480p, 800 at 720p, 1,968 at 1080p
2Kling v3 Pro (Oakgen)Image-to-video with start and end frames15 s1080pAlways on, off with an end frame284 credits, 190 with an end frame
3Seedance 2.0 (Oakgen)4K output15 s4KSwitch on image-to-video only228 credits at 480p, 2,629 at 4K
4MiniMax H3 Max (Oakgen)Cheap 1080p and reference-guided shots15 s1080PListed, no switch85 credits at 480P, 136 at 768P, 271 at 1080P
5Grok Imagine Video (Oakgen)Cheapest drafts in many aspect ratios15 s720pListed, no switch85 credits at 480p, 119 at 720p
6Seedance 2.0 Fast (Oakgen)Seedance with sound at lower cost15 s720pSwitch, on by default182 credits at 480p, 409 at 720p
7Gemini Omni Flash (Oakgen)Short 16:9 or 9:16 clips and text-based edits10 s720pNot listed in Oakgen's settings169 credits
8HeyGen (not on Oakgen)Long talking-avatar and translated videos30 min on Creator1080P on Creator, 4K on ProYes, avatar voicePlans from $29 a month
9Runway (not on Oakgen)One app for generation and editingNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedGen-4.5 is 60 Runway credits
10Google Veo 3.1 (not on Oakgen)People already paying for Google AI plansNot stated on Google's page4KNativeSold through Google's plans
11Pika (not on Oakgen)A second multi-model option with its own effectsNot stated on plan pageNot stated on plan pageNot stated on plan pagePlans from $10 a month

Oakgen bills video per second and rounds once on the total, so the 5-second price does not scale in a straight line from the per-second rate. A 10-second Kling v3 Pro clip is 568 credits. A 15-second one is 852.

"Not confirmed" for Runway means we could not load Runway's help center to read Gen-4.5's duration and resolution limits, so we left them out rather than guess.

How did we rank them?

We looked at five things you can check on a spec sheet or a pricing page:

  1. The longest clip one request can make.
  2. The highest output resolution.
  3. Whether the model generates sound with the picture, and whether you can turn it off.
  4. Which inputs it takes: text, a start image, an end image, reference images, reference video or reference audio.
  5. The price of a 5-second clip.

Then we named the job each tool fits best. When two tools fit the same job, the cheaper one ranks higher. We did not score visual quality.

Independent tests that did compare quality agree on one thing. Kapwing's March 2026 test of Seedance, Veo and Kling ran five prompts through each model and found no model won every prompt. Its product test also found details drifting, such as a model turning over-ear headphones into earbuds. That matches the advice below. Draft cheap, check details at full size, and only pay for high resolution once the prompt works.

Which AI video generator makes the longest clips?

Seedance 2.5 on Oakgen. Its duration picker runs from 4 to 30 seconds in 1-second steps, and audio is on by default. The other video models on Oakgen stop at 15 seconds, and Gemini Omni Flash stops at 10.

Seedance 2.5 has three modes on Oakgen:

  • Text to video, with seven aspect ratio options (auto, 21:9, 16:9, 4:3, 1:1, 3:4 and 9:16).
  • Image to video, with a start image and an optional end image.
  • Reference to video, which takes up to 30 reference images, up to 10 reference videos and up to 10 reference audio clips. The prompt refers to them in order as @Image1, @Video1 and @Audio1.

Length is where the cost goes. A 30-second clip is 2,236 credits at 480p, 4,797 at 720p and 11,803 at 1080p. Reference videos change the formula. With a reference video attached, Oakgen bills 0.6 times the normal rate on the reference seconds plus the output seconds, so a long reference clip adds to the bill.

Pick something else when you need 4K (Seedance 2.0) or when 15 seconds is enough and you want the lowest price (MiniMax H3 Max or Grok Imagine Video). Our Seedance 2.5 guide covers prompts and reference packs in detail, and the Seedance 2.5 model page lists every setting.

Which AI video generator is best for image-to-video?

Kling v3 Pro on Oakgen, when you know where the shot should start and end. The image mode takes a required start frame and an optional end frame, so you control both the first and last frame. Durations run from 3 to 15 seconds.

It also takes up to 2 "elements". An element is a character or object reference built from a front-facing image plus up to 3 extra angles, or from one short video. Elements help keep a product or a face the same across clips, which is where Kapwing's test saw the most drift.

Two pricing details matter here:

  • On Oakgen, audio is always on for Kling v3 Pro. There is no switch in the form. A 5-second clip is 284 credits.
  • When you add an end frame, Oakgen sends the request without audio and bills the audio-off rate. A 5-second clip with an end frame is 190 credits.

If you plan to put your own voiceover or music on top, the end-frame route is cheaper and gives you a silent clip to edit. Our Kling 3 on Oakgen guide covers elements and prompting.

Seedance 2.5 Image is the other choice. It also takes an optional end image, runs to 30 seconds and keeps its audio switch, but it costs more at every resolution above 480p.

Which AI video generator supports 4K?

On Oakgen, only Seedance 2.0. It offers 480p, 720p, 1080p and 4K, six aspect ratios including 21:9, and durations from 4 to 15 seconds. The text-to-video mode accepts reference images, videos and audio. The image-to-video mode takes a start image, an optional last frame and an audio switch.

4K costs about 11.5 times the 480p price. A 5-second clip is 228 credits at 480p and 2,629 at 4K. A 15-second 4K clip is 7,885 credits. Our Seedance 2.0 4K guide explains how to draft low and render 4K once.

Outside Oakgen, Google DeepMind's Veo page says Veo 3.1 can "Generate outputs in 1080p and 4K", as of October 25, 2026. HeyGen's pricing page lists exports "Up to 4K" on its Pro plan and above, for avatar videos.

What is the cheapest AI video generator for drafts?

Grok Imagine Video and MiniMax H3 Max on Oakgen tie at 85 credits for 5 seconds at 480p. At 15 seconds, both cost 254 credits at 480p.

  • Grok Imagine Video runs 3 to 15 seconds at 480p or 720p and offers seven aspect ratios, including 3:2 and 2:3 that the other models lack. Oakgen also runs Grok Imagine Video Edit and Grok Imagine Extend, which continues an existing 2 to 15 second MP4 by 2 to 10 more seconds.
  • MiniMax H3 Max runs 5 to 15 seconds and goes up to 1080P, where 5 seconds costs 271 credits. Its image mode takes start and end images. Its reference mode takes up to 9 images, 3 videos and 3 audio clips, with at most 12 files in total. It also has a prompt enhancement setting with disabled, fast, balanced and quality options.

The catch with cheap drafts on a different model is that the look will not carry over. A Grok draft tells you whether the idea works. It does not preview what Kling or Seedance will render from the same prompt. If you already know which model you will finish on, draft on that model at its lowest resolution instead.

Which AI video generator is best for editing a clip you already have?

On Oakgen, the choice depends on the edit:

  • Kling O3 Pro Video Edit changes an existing clip of up to 15 seconds from a text instruction. Oakgen measures the source clip and bills 284 credits per 5 seconds of it.
  • Kling v3 Pro Motion Control copies the motion from a reference video onto your subject, also at 284 credits per 5 seconds of reference video. See the Kling v3 Pro Motion Control page.
  • Gemini Omni Flash Edit Video edits an uploaded 720p clip of just over 3 seconds up to 30 seconds, at 169 credits per 5 seconds.
  • Grok Imagine Video Edit costs 102 credits per 5 seconds at 480p and 136 at 720p.

Google describes Gemini Omni Flash in its Gemini API docs as "a fast, multimodal model for video generation and conversational video editing." On Oakgen, its generation modes run 3 to 10 seconds at 720p in 16:9 or 9:16.

If your job is mostly editing (cutting, color, masking and timeline work), a full editor such as Runway's app is a better fit than a generation tool. Oakgen's edit models change what is in the shot. They do not replace a timeline editor.

Which AI video generator is best for talking avatars?

For avatar videos longer than 2 minutes, HeyGen. Its pricing page, read October 25, 2026, lists:

  • A Free plan with videos up to 1 minute.
  • Creator at $29 a month ($24 a month paid annually), with videos up to 30 minutes, up to 1080P exports and a custom video avatar "with your own voice and likeness".
  • Pro at $49 a month, with exports up to 4K.
  • Translation into "175 languages and dialects" on paid plans.

Oakgen's Talking Photo tool animates a still photo with a voice track, and it caps the audio at 2 minutes per video. That suits a short spokesperson clip or a social post. It does not suit a 20-minute training video, and HeyGen's plans are built for that job. Our talking avatar guide covers the short-form case.

How do Runway, Google Veo and Pika compare?

None of the three runs on Oakgen. Each is a reasonable pick if you want one vendor's own app, and two of them also sell access to the same model families Oakgen runs.

Runway. Runway's pricing page, read October 25, 2026, lists Standard at $15 a month or $12 a month billed annually, with 625 credits a month. It says Gen-4.5 "uses 12 credits per second of generated video", so a 5-second Gen-4.5 clip is 60 Runway credits. At Standard's annual rate that is about $1.15 of plan credits. Runway's plan cards also name Kling 3.0 on Standard and Seedance 2.5 on Pro and Max. Runway's API guide lists Gen-4.5 as a text-to-video and image-to-video model at $0.12 per second. We could not load Runway's help center, so we have not confirmed Gen-4.5's length, resolution or audio limits.

Google Veo 3.1. Google DeepMind's Veo page says Veo 3.1 outputs 1080p and 4K, generates audio natively, and has Scene Extension to "Extend clips into longer, more dynamic videos." The page lists access through the Gemini app, Google Flow, Google Vids, Google AI Studio, the Gemini API and the Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform. It does not state a maximum clip length. Google's Gemini API docs say the Veo 3.1 Preview models in the Gemini API were shut down on October 22, 2026, and point developers to Gemini Omni Flash or the GA Veo models on the Enterprise platform. The Gemini subscriptions page served us regional prices only, so we have not quoted a US price.

Pika. Pika's pricing page lists Starter at $10 a month ($8 billed annually) with 900 credits, and Fancy at $95 a month with 8,550 credits and up. Every plan says "All models", and the page's cost calculator uses Seedance 2.5 as its example. The plan page does not list clip lengths or resolutions per model, so we left those cells blank.

Sora. OpenAI's deprecations page lists the removal of the Sora 2 models and the Videos API from the API on September 24, 2026.

When is another tool a better choice than Oakgen?

These are the cases where we would send you elsewhere:

  • Avatar videos over 2 minutes. HeyGen's Creator plan allows 30-minute videos. Oakgen's Talking Photo stops at 2 minutes.
  • Veo specifically. Oakgen does not run Veo 3.1. If a client brief names Veo, use Google's apps.
  • High volume on one model. If you only ever use one model, that vendor's own plan may cost less per clip. Compare Runway's 12 credits per second for Gen-4.5 with your actual monthly usage before you decide.
  • 4K with sound from a text prompt alone. Seedance 2.0 is Oakgen's only 4K model. Its image-to-video mode does 4K with an audio switch that is on by default, so if you can supply a start image, Oakgen covers it. Its text-to-video mode has no audio switch on Oakgen. Google says Veo 3.1 does 4K with native audio.

Oakgen's case is the opposite one. You get Kling, Seedance, MiniMax, Grok Imagine and Gemini Omni Flash on one credit balance, with the price shown before each run. You can draft on an 85-credit model and finish on a 1,968-credit one without a second subscription.

What do these prices mean in dollars?

Oakgen plans include monthly credits. On October 25, 2026, the pricing page listed Basic at $9 for 2,000 credits, Pro at $19 for 5,000, Ultimate at $29 for 10,000 and Creator at $99 for 40,000. Plan prices can change.

That puts one plan credit between about $0.0025 (Creator) and $0.0045 (Basic). Add-on credits are sold at 180 credits per dollar, about $0.0056 each.

Clip on OakgenCreditsAt Creator ratesAt Basic rates
Grok Imagine Video, 5 s, 480p85$0.21$0.38
Kling v3 Pro, 5 s284$0.70$1.28
Seedance 2.5, 10 s, 720p1,599$3.96$7.20
Seedance 2.5, 30 s, 1080p11,803$29.21$53.11

A worked example. Say you need one 10-second Seedance 2.5 ad at 1080p. Three drafts at 480p cost 746 credits each, 2,238 in total. The final 1080p render costs 3,935. The whole job is 6,173 credits. That fits inside one month of Ultimate or Creator credits, and it is more than three months of Basic credits. We have not checked whether a 1080p render reproduces a 480p draft frame for frame, so treat the drafts as a test of the prompt, not of the exact take.

How we checked this

We read the Oakgen facts from the code on October 25, 2026. Model names, durations, resolutions, aspect ratios, inputs and audio settings come from each video model's configuration in Oakgen's video package. Credit prices come from each model's per-second rate converted with Oakgen's single conversion function (260 credits per dollar plus the 30% platform fee, rounded up once per clip). Plan prices come from Oakgen's plan catalog and the live pricing page, checked the same day. The Talking Photo 2-minute cap comes from that tool's settings.

We read the outside facts from each vendor's own page on the same day: Runway's pricing page and API guide, Google DeepMind's Veo page, Google's Gemini API video docs, Pika's pricing page, HeyGen's pricing page and OpenAI's deprecations page. Where a page did not state a limit, we left the cell blank instead of filling it from a review site.

We did not run a side-by-side or blind quality test for this article, and we did not generate test clips on Runway, Veo, Pika or HeyGen. The ranking says which tool fits which job on paper. For opinions on output quality, read a test that publishes its prompts, such as Kapwing's, and run your own prompt on the two models that fit your job.

Try two models on one balance

Draft a 5-second take on Grok Imagine or MiniMax for 85 credits, then finish on Seedance 2.5 or Kling v3 Pro.

Open the AI Video Generator

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI video generator in 2026?

It depends on the job. As of October 25, 2026, Seedance 2.5 on Oakgen makes the longest single clips (up to 30 seconds with audio), Kling v3 Pro is the pick for image-to-video with a start and end frame, Seedance 2.0 is the only Oakgen model with 4K output, and Grok Imagine Video and MiniMax H3 Max are the cheapest drafts at 85 credits for 5 seconds at 480p. For avatar videos longer than 2 minutes, HeyGen is the better tool.

Which AI video generator on Oakgen is the cheapest?

Grok Imagine Video at 480p and MiniMax H3 Max at 480P both cost 85 credits for a 5-second clip on Oakgen, according to Oakgen's pricing code on October 25, 2026. A 15-second 480p clip on either costs 254 credits. Prices can change, and the generator shows the exact cost before you run a clip.

Which AI video models generate sound?

On Oakgen as of October 25, 2026, Kling v3 Pro generates audio on every text-to-video and image-to-video run except when you add an end frame. Seedance 2.5, Seedance 2.0 Fast and Seedance 2.0 image-to-video have an audio switch that is on by default. Grok Imagine Video and MiniMax H3 Max list audio generation in Oakgen's model settings. Google DeepMind's Veo page says Veo generates audio natively.

Is Sora still available?

OpenAI's API deprecations page lists the removal of the Sora 2 video models and the Videos API from the API on September 24, 2026, with no replacement listed. Oakgen does not offer Sora.

Can I use AI videos from Oakgen commercially?

Oakgen does not claim ownership of your inputs or eligible outputs. Under section 4.4 of Oakgen's Terms, your right to use an output, including commercially, depends on following the Terms, the law, the terms of the model provider used, and the rights you hold in anything you upload or reference, such as a likeness, a voice or a trademark.

Did Oakgen test these AI video generators side by side?

No. For this article we did not run a blind or side-by-side quality test. The ranking uses each model's documented limits and its price, read on October 25, 2026, so it tells you which tool fits which job, not which one looks best.

Sources

  1. Runway pricing
  2. Runway API models guide
  3. Google DeepMind, Veo
  4. Gemini API, video generation
  5. OpenAI API deprecations
  6. Pika pricing
  7. HeyGen pricing
  8. Kapwing, Seedance vs Veo vs Kling text-to-video comparison (March 2026)
Share